BEFORE I DIE

fullsizeoutput_13e4First, before you freak out about the title, no, I am not dying or on my death bed. I think maybe I’m hormonal(it’s called menopause) or if that doesn’t fit; I’m being sentimental because the holidays are fast approaching!

A year ago, I got a text from a friend, encouraging a group of us who blog, to write a “Before I Die” piece. I looked at it, quickly made a note of the title (put it in my to write list) and went on down the road. Honestly, I couldn’t begin to think on such things, not yet. I had a few ideas about some of the things I have always wanted to do in my head, but for the most part, I pretty much forgot about it. Every once in a while, I would run across the topic as I was scrolling for a blog post idea, when I couldn’t think of one.

So, now, I have come across it again.  It hit me that I needed to share my desires in hopes you will feel free to share yours. I’m over the half century mark and I can tell you this much: I know there’s a lot left to do! I feel it…to my core.

I’m guessing most of us have a secret list somewhere. Tucked away. Locked up and the key has been hidden in a place you thought was safe. Now you just can’t remember where the safe place is!

 You do, I just know it!

The confidential list is stored in a compartment, in section z, room zzz, in the far corner of your mind. You’ve forgotten about it. You forgot what it felt like to see certain things, feel others and smile because you were content!

I have a couple of things I would like to do. Dreams. Not mandatory, but I would be forever grateful if God would allow me to walk through some of these dreams.

Go to Italy. Someday. For a month. At ease, not in a rush. Drinking in the sights, sounds and savoring the people that are the most important to me.

Drive up the East Coast during the changing of the seasons. Watching the leaves change colors and marveling at the vibrancy of the leaves and how God takes us through seasons. He is by our side through every change, drastic or small. He holds us through seasons of growth, seasons of blooming, pruning, dormancy, and after a freeze, He brings us back to life again. Every time.

Back to life again. The fog has lifted! 

Before I Die..

I think the thing I want most is to love. Love others and blow their minds the way God blows mine! Whether this is through actions, written words or an unexplored talent, I want to share God’s love with as many people as I possibly can.

At this very moment, I want you to know you are loved. Served. Taken care of. Known by name. Absolutely free of any guilt or shame the enemy tries to throw in your face.

I want you to experience being held, hugged and listened to. Just ears that want to know every detail of what you are walking through and whatever you could possibly need.

I want you to know how valued you are. How much worth you have. Sometimes, we get so in our heads or overlooked. It can hurt to feel like no one notices the effort you put in. God ALWAYS recognizes your worth. He understands your weirdness and loves every bit of it. To Him, every single second with you is of value.

I want you to know you are not a back-up plan. 

The dream you’ve locked away for another time is real. Go get the key or, better yet, give someone else the key to unlock  your compartmentalized dream. Share your vision with others. Be honest in your efforts and you will be shocked at how many other believers want to help you succeed.

You just don’t believe it can happen. Fear has set in!

Maybe you’re scared it WILL happen

What would that look like? How would it change the rest of your life? Are you really ready for that?

I believe because God in His kindness to us, will let us get a glimpse of this!

When we lock eyes with The One who gave us breath, we have a deep understanding of what love is. Can you even imagine?

Before I Die..

I want you to see you how special you really are. It is a mountain we all climb. We struggle getting our footing correctly placed. We can’t seem to grip too long without letting go. We let go too quickly because our momentum to fall overrides us. We keep grasping, hoping we finally find the one spot to get a solid grip.

But then….

Love finds us. Unexpectedly.

You are not a back-up plan.

Before I die…

I want you to experience this. I want to experience this.

You are who you are. I am who I am. God is God.

Somewhere in the mix of all this, we find each other, and God, who is the only one who can bring us together, gets an immense amount of pleasure as we discover why we’ve found each other. It was His very design we’ve crossed paths.

Before I Die….

I will go to my grave making sure you know this to be true! Who do you need to share this good news with today?

One thought on “BEFORE I DIE

Leave a Reply

