STEEL RODS

IMG_1821I received a text from my sweet friend the other day.  It was a quote from Holly Wagner.

“Joy is not a feeling. Joy is a decision. Joy is the steel rod going down your back that holds you in place during times of trouble.”

As I started to write, I was just going to talk about joy. But, as I prayed and sought scripture, trust came alongside. Then, as I was walking Andy this morning, The Lord, just kept repeating the phrase, “it starts with your worth”.

Let me try to explain.

You don’t believe you have any worth. It stems from lots of things. It’s  the elephant in the room you have been trying to ignore.

Your mind rationalizes with thoughts of inferiority, excuses, and lame attempts to give others reasons why you have no worth.

The enemy loves this. Especially when we self talk. Please, don’t think for a second that I don’t know you do it. You do. Here’s what I believe:

as soon as you say it out loud, the enemy now knows. He is incapable of reading your thoughts or knowing your heart. Until you speak it. 

You repeat it over and over again.

And again.

You believe it.

All the lies. All the reasons someone close to you said it or the countless little ways they have forgotten you.

Please.Turn those lies over to Jesus.

When you believe you have worth, that’s the beginning of trust. The screws if you will.  Believing, finally, that the why and the what of it all, is because you are worth it. Refusing to get discouraged at what you see in the natural and trusting God for what you can’t see. Faith.

Trusting that His ways are higher and wilder and you can rest in those.

Trust His thoughts for you. Those thoughts are true. Believe. Yes, He wants those things for you.

The screws of trust hold joy. Steel rods of joy up your spine. This is what happens when we believe; then trust.

Joy is the countenance that sees you through your circumstances. Those screws hold joy close and tight. Just like a new mom holding her first child. Caressing, cuddling, holding tightly to the precious life in her hands.

We have to have these screws of trust. Otherwise, joy will fade away because there’s nothing holding it up. We become limp because of our circumstances. Joy is lost.

Steel rods. Brave. Unbendable. Strong. 

Nehemiah 8.10 The joy of the Lord is your strength.

Psalm 28.7 The Lord is my strength and shield. I trust Him with all my heart. He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy.

Joy is unmistakeable. It reconciles defeat.

Believe me when I say this: I’ve walked this road. What you are going through is tough. Hard.

Trust Him. Joy will show up. Strong. 

I’ve seen it with my own eyes.

IMG_1820

One thought on “STEEL RODS

Leave a Reply

