INTERIOR DECORATING IN OUR DREAMS

I didn’t get the decorating gene. I don’t enjoy it for one minute. I can tell you the style I like and what makes me feel at home, but for the life of me I can’t put it together in a room. It overwhelms me. In fact, just thinking about it now, makes me sweat.

I guess, you could say, I interior decorate only in my dreams. Can visualize the overall picture, but cannot bring it to life. Transference is the big issue.

That’s what interior decorators do.

They bring to life that which we can only dream about.

They enjoy arranging, rearranging, and rearranging…and rearranging.

I had a college roommate who loved this! She was a fabulous decorator! She would get a wild hair about 10pm and want to rearrange the entire apartment. Monthly. I went along with it for say, 2 months. Because frankly, I didn’t care what it looked like. She just couldn’t touch my room. My room was perfect. In fact, the 2.5 years we lived together, my room stayed the same. As soon, as she would mention “we” were going to move furniture and rehang things, I said goodnight. I can sleep through most anything!

I live in a one bedroom apartment now, and it is decorated beautifully. And no, I had nothing to do with it. I have a couple of friends, that are fantastic at this gift!! I didn’t care. Told them how much they could spend and off we went.

This is what I love about people with this gift. They readily see what is needed and what is no longer needed.  They move things in that are needed and move things out which are no longer needed.

Once it is no longer needed, it goes. Not in storage, but given away so that someone who needs it can use it.

This is how Jesus is with your heart.

He sees what needs to go and He invites that which is needed in. He replaces the old with the new.

Sometimes we want to hang on to what was old because we think we know best. It’s comfortable.

He sees what needs to be given away for someone else. He doesn’t let us hang on to it. Someone else needs what you have to give.

I’ve been in a season of some “interior” decorating. There were/are things in my heart that needed to be mended, thrown out, shared, instilled and changed! There are things I see in a completely different light.

You would be surprised to know I haven’t enjoyed the process. Walking in it has been rough. I’m somewhere in the middle of the road, dodging semi’s coming at me from both directions. But, God….

My Interior Decorator is at work, changing my heart, my life,  and my expectations.

He is at work changing my thoughts. It’s ok to have new desires. Different things are headed my way. I really hope they look different than what I’m expecting. ( my expectations are usually off) This, for me, is allowing Him to be creative and decorate the way He wants.

He’s doing the transference in me.

Let the Interior Decorator move things around. Allow Him access to do it. It’s ok to allow the changes.

 

My place is amazing! It’s warm and comfortable. I wouldn’t change a thing! (and I won’t)

How’s your heart? Let Him redecorate. Don’t just dream about it in your dreams, allow it to unfold in your reality.

IMG_1254

Leave a Reply

