SOMETIMES IT’S HOURLY

There’s a new man in my life!

I know you’re wondering about him. Shocked maybe?  I’ve been looking for him awhile.  Was waiting on the timing. There is always the perfect timing.

Let me go back to a conversation I had with a friend on Friday.

Yep, it was Friday (if you read my earlier post about Fridays then you can guess where this is going)!

Friday was HARD! I cried all morning at work.

Couldn’t shake it.

Was overpowering me.

My friend and I were on the phone talking about our plans for that evening. We were having the young adults mentoring group over to eat and watch a movie! I was telling her how hard it was and how thankful we had plans for that evening! She asked why.

I told her it was a night that, without plans I might just go out and do something really stupid. That day the struggle was very real. She laughed (with empathy) and said yeah, but Toni, you want to do the right thing and be obedient. I told her my heart was made up on that. I would not go do something stupid, but I also realized my weakness at that point. Somehow, voicing that, made it easier.

There’s too much at stake I told her. I want people to see that I certainly do not have it all together, but also see my resolve to be obedient.

At the end of the day, I want the Lord to know I was obedient.

Anyway, we ate, laughed and watched a romantic movie. (I would like to go on record here, saying when you are where I am, those movies should be banned. Just saying!!!!)

They do not help!

Which is why there’s a new man in my life. I had been corresponding by email to finally meet him. He was going to be at this Irish Festival. I was excited to meet him.

So, I promptly left at 10am on Saturday morning, drove to Fair Park.  I know, right? That’s what everyone does…

I paid my entry fee and went to the agreed place.

Tall dark and handsome…..and no he wasn’t wearing a kilt….. He wasn’t what I was expecting at first.

We went for a walk through the festival, and really, within the hour,  I asked if he could come home with me.

He’s still here. It’s Tuesday and he hasn’t left.

Sometimes, when we are going through a thing, our obedience is not a daily thing.

It’s hourly…

Our emotions tend to rule us and we have to measure our obedience by the hour. Because it’s overwhelming to look at the whole day.

God is using it to teach us to hear Him every step ( hour), so we have resolve in our heart to do the right thing.

Obedience is hard..especially when the walls are closing in and you can’t see the other side of the thing.

God is giving me, at this precise moment, the ability to exercise my stewardship of obedience to Him.

BTW, My guy’s name is Andy.   He is perfect.

He’s moved in permanently.  We are figuring one another out…. He’s just what I was looking for…

IMG_1250

He’s adorable, isn’t he?

One thought on “SOMETIMES IT’S HOURLY

  1. Your new man is SO handsome! My heart aches to hear what you’re going through. I’m so proud of your devotion to leaning in and learning from it all. Your vulnerability and transparency will continue to make you stronger. Writing this blog with an open heart like yours is the most generous thing you can do. I LOVE reading it! Thank you for the gift.

    Like

Leave a Reply

