ROAD MAP

images-6

I can read a road map.

I can tell you which direction we are heading and road numbers. If we are traveling together, I will navigate you there. I’m great at it….

Remember when you found how to get from place to place was a Rand McAnally Road map? My grandfather was a genius at finding the quickest route to get where he was going. He knew the roads and the road numbers. He could tell you how to get anywhere in the state of Texas. Most people didn’t understand him or all the road numbers he would throw around.

I am just like him. I know road numbers and how to get to where I am going by the shortest route.

Well maybe, with the exception of being in a hotel. I get so turned around… My friend/co-worker Julie and I were in Tyler a couple of weekends ago for a basketball tournament. We would walk out our door and I would go the wrong way EVERY time. She laughed at me constantly. I swore I was great with directions… She still isn’t so sure of that.

Navigating roads and directions are easy.

Especially now, with GPS and Google maps on our phones. All we have to do is plug in where we want to go and it tells us every step to take. Easy.

Life not so much. My road map is different than yours. Mine was articulated and well mapped out, or so I thought. Turned out mine was littered with land mines.  Never saw it coming..

I’ve found that in life quicker may not be better.

The quickest way results in lessons forefeited. Or feelings buried. Or….you fill in the blank. Sometimes we reach a fork in the road and we have no idea which way to go. There is no navigation system which will tell us the way to go. I can’t just spout out where I want to go, or don’t want to go for that matter, and the GPS will tell me. Doesn’t work that way.

You could be single and wanting to be in relationship. Or you’ve just found yourself single after a long marriage. Your best friend has pushed you away and you don’t understand. Your parents are older and need help. Your children are lost and fragmented and you have no idea how to help them proceed. Maybe you lost your job or you are looking for a new one. It really doesn’t matter where you find life has taken a detour off the straight path called your life.

There is a great NAVIGATOR and His name is Jesus. His word is full of directions and answers to wherever you find yourself lost. It’s hard.

The only time limit I have is from this moment until I take my last breath.

 I have one such direction on a notecard in my Bible: Proverbs 4.25-27

“ Look straight ahead, and fix your eyes on what lies before you. Mark out a straight path for your feet; stay on the safe path. Don’t get sidetracked; keep your feet from following evil.”

This requires me to do my part.

See what lies before you. If a massive tree(or problem) has fallen on your path. I’m learning this.

Go over it.  However long it takes. I’ve realized I have time to learn. I want to learn this the right way, so I don’t repeat it.

Not around it. The danger with going around it is this: we get sidetracked, lured by things we have no business being sucked in by. It takes self-control. If I have Jesus in front of me, then my eyes are locked into His, then my path is safe. Don’t be in hurry to get there. Face the road. See the pitfalls. Avoid them.

Proverbs 2. 6-8

“For the Lord grants wisdom! From His mouth come knowledge and understanding. He grants a treasure of common sense to the honest. He is a shield to those who walk with integrity. He guards the paths of the just and protects those who are faithful to Him.”

He is our Navigator! He speaks knowledge and gives us understanding. He knows where we want to be. He hears our hearts. He knows we truly don’t want to go there or have to walk through that tough thing. Whatever that thing may be.

I only have one question for you. Have you taken a detour around? If so, its ok. I’ve done it. Listen.  I promise you He’s telling you…. You can hear and obey or you can shut him down(like you do your GPS when it takes you in a circle). There are no circles with Him. It’s your choice to go around and around. His path is straight.

Your help comes from the maker of heaven and earth. He knows your road and He has a map to  lead you where He needs you to go.

I’m praying for you. Hoping you will be courageous enough to go over it with your eyes fixed on Him.

Leave a Reply

