CONTEND

IMG_0002

You’ve fought before? Contended for something? Right? Doesn’t matter the circumstances, we’ve all had a moment when we feel like some injustice was done to us or against someone we care about.  Right? Surely, I’m not the only one.

I’m going to admit I’m struggling with this.

What do you do when a friend tells you not to defend her? Is it my responsibility or not? I realize there are no pat answers; pat answers are the easy way out.

Fight. Contend. Oppose. 

I’ve waged war within myself on this the last few weeks.  Pros/Cons.  Looked at every angle. Seen every side. Still don’t know what to do.

It’s the way God created me. A protector. A defender. It’s natural to me.

It breaks my heart to see someone hurt for being misjudged. My insides are twisted up. Burdened.

“DON’T MAKE ME COME OUT THERE!”

And yet, when I’m not clear, I do nothing verbally or physically.. Seems logical. Practical. Less threatening.

Here’s my thought: If you have been misjudged, lied about, slandered, demoted, gossiped about, or you’ve been thrown under the bus by someone, and you are dear to me…I want to contend/fight to the death. (this might possibly be a time where my mouth gets me in trouble) You see where I’m going with this don’t you?

When is it the right time to contend something?

I’m not sure the timing to be honest.

Psalm 35.1

Contend, Lord, with those who contend with me; fight against those who fight against me.

Psalm 35.23 

Awake, and rise to my defense! Contend for me, my God and Lord.

Isaiah 49:25

But this is what the Lord says: “Yes, captives will be taken from warriors, and plunder retrieved from the fierce; I will contend with those who contend with you, and your children I will save.

Deuteronomy 1:30

The Lord your God, who is going before you, will fight for you, as he did for you in Egypt, before your very eyes

Deuteronomy 3:22

Do not be afraid of them; the Lord your God himself will fight for you.”

I think I’ve gotten mixed up in something I have no business getting into the middle of. This wouldn’t be the first time I’ve jumped in the middle of what God is trying to do. The above scriptures prove He is willing to contend for me. For you. Yes, you. I need to let Him. You need to let Him. His voice and action carry so much more authority, than my childlike temper tantrum.

It’s not my job. Not yours either.

It’s God’s.  You are in much more capable hands than mine. You see, you are worth more to Him than you can imagine.  Quite simply, He’s going to contend for you and on your behalf. He will take care of you. He will give you grace to go through. He will give you power in the moment.  Why will He do this?  Because you are His.  He has the authority to.

I’m protective of the ones I love, but my goodness, He’s so much more than me.

Please Lord, contend for those who need it this moment. Fight for them.

Leave a Reply

