Rattled

Usually when I see a quote, one that really gets me, I jot it down. No, I don’t have a book of quotes, because that would be too easy for me to find.

I came across this one on Facebook not long ago and well, it fit. Like a glove.

International House of Prayer issued this FB status:

When the Love of God touches you, it satisfies you but leaves you longing and aching for more because your capacity to experience increases. 

I’m up past my bedtime trying to get this done because frankly God won’t let it go. I’ve been writing this for 2 days. Don’t know it will make much sense. But when He doesn’t let something go, I have to figure out what I am supposed to learn in the middle of the thing.

I’ve realized I’m rattled. 

Lots of life changes, home changes, emotions. I mean friction just simply because my spirit is ready for different.  Challenging. Asking for more than I can possibly handle right now, but its clear. Let me say it’s clear in my spirit. Not so clear in the direction.

I was reading the other day and the word rattle stuck out to me. When we are depleted we get rattled.

Life rattles us.

Drains us.

We get caught up in so many things. We get unfocused and think these things are what drives us. In reality, they just deplete us., suck us dry.

But somewhere in the midst, quiet must find it”s way to our door and slip in at times unnoticed.

In Ezekiel 37.7  “Suddenly as I spoke there was a great rattling noise all across the valley. The bones of EACH body came together and attached themselves as complete skeletons.”

So I see rattling in 2 different ways:

  1. We are rattled when life gets hard.We are overwhelmed! Our bones become dry and brittle. Our soul and spirit lose hope. These are some things that can cause us to be brittle and rattle: anxiety, stress, discouragement, and a host of other things that you can fill in that blank. Our time is limited…
  2. We get rattled when God chooses to breathe life into us.

Rattled because it was unexpected, this new feeling of being alive again.

Ezekiel 37.8 His Word breathes life into us. Our dry bones stop rattling and we live. Our souls rattle because there is hope. Here’s the thing: Coming to life doesn’t mean we do less, it’s just being who God called us to be. It’s realizing that just tonight, I don’t work at home. I leave it at the office.

God’s one breath restores us.  

I was trying to figure out the commonalities between the words restore and restorer.

Psalm 16.9  (Loved this verse) “No wonder my heart is glad, and I rejoice. My body rests in safety.”

Psalm 166.7 “Let my soul be at rest again for the Lord has been good to me.”

Matt. 11.28

“Come to me all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear and the burden I give you is light.”

Do you see rest in restore? Breath restores us; leads us to rest. God’s breath is the only satisfying breath we can inhale.

Rest comes in many forms, use your imagination. I think what resonates with me the most is communing together. Fellowship, Prayer. This is rejuvenating in a physical way, emotional and spiritual.

So take a moment. Inhale the sweet aroma of Jesus. Let Him saturate you before you exhale. Be raw before Him. Let it all go.(In Jesus’ Name) Hang on to what breathes life into you.

Let the rattling begin, not of dry bones, but of the very breath of God bringing you to a place of life.

One thought on “Rattled

  1. Love this Toni! Especially this:
    Rest comes in many forms, use your imagination. I think what resonates with me the most is communing together. Fellowship, Prayer. This is rejuvenating in a physical way, emotional and spiritual.

    Like

Leave a Reply

